Wednesday 1 February 2023
  • :
  • :
for buy propecia our drug store

RABJ Names 2016 Wyoma Best Scholarship Award for Future Journalists Winner

By Staff


JustinMyers2016 (1)The Rochester Association of Black Journalists has awarded its 2016 Wyoma Best Scholarship for Future Journalists to Webster Thomas High School graduate Justin Myers.

Recently, RABJ presented the award to Myers at at the WXXI Public Broadcasting Studios on State St.

“We are very proud he is our 2016 Wyoma Best Scholarship for Future Journalists winner,” RABJ President Richard McCollough stated.

According to RABJ, Myers will be a freshman at St. Bonaventure University in Allegany, N.Y., majoring in journalism and mass communications this fall.

Upon graduation, he plans to become a television sports journalist, with the ultimate goal of landing a job as an anchor at a television station.

“Myers is an outstanding young man who has all of the qualities to be an excellent college student and a future leader,” the group stated.

In 2005, RABJ created the $500 scholarship in honor of Wyoma Best, Rochester’s first black female television reporter, news anchor, and talk show host. The organization established the scholarship to assist a deserving student majoring in, or planning to major in, a field of study leading to a career in print or broadcast journalism.

Students must complete an application, submit a written essay on a topic chosen by RABJ, and demonstrate the qualities of good citizenship, and commitment to advancing the public’s understanding of issues faced by people of color via the media, in order to be considered for the award.

The Rochester Association of Black Journalists is an affiliate of the National Association of Black Journalists, which is an organization of more than 4,000 journalists, students and media-related professionals that advocates for diversity in newsrooms and news content.

Click here to comment on this article on our Facebook page.